Peace and Security


« The Great Lakes Region transformed ina space of sustainable peace and security, through joint and coordinated efforts and within a regional framework for prevention, management and peaceful resolution of conflicts »


The 12 Heads of State and Government of Member countries of the International Conference on the Great Lakes Region, meeting in Dar Es-Salaam, on 19 and 20 November 2004, followed by the Republic of South Sudan on 24th February 2013, under the auspices of the United Nations and the African Union signed the Pact on Security, Stability and Development in the Great Lakes Region on 15 December 2006 in Nairobi, Kenya, committed themselves to the respect of the following common constitutional principles:

* Resolving and preventing internal and inter-State armed conflicts, subversive activities and serve as a legal framework for the elimination of all forms of persistent insecurity in and between member States;

* Eliminating the threats to peace, security, stability and sustainable development in the Great Lakes Region through mutual security;

* Ensuring the respect of sovereignty and security of States, the inviolability of their frontiers and their territorial integrity;

* Protecting the rights of individuals and populations, gender equality, Rule of Law, Democracy and sustainable development in the Great Lakes Region;

* Ensuring that disputes between member States as well as between


The Regional Program of Action for Peace and Security comprises two sub-programs, six projects and one protocol.

For the first sub-program, we have:

1. Joint security management of common borders:

It includes 4 projects :

For the second sub-program, we have:

2. Inter-State cooperation on peace and security issues:

It includes 2 projects :


- Projet No 1.1.1

Key Partners. Development partners, UN, ADB Special Fund, Development Partners for funding

- Project No 1.1.3

Key Partners. Member States, DRC Gov, MONUC, AU and Tri-Partite Plus, UNHCR, OCHA, NGOs

- Project No 1.1.4

Key Partners. SUA/TPDF,IMATC National Mine authorities/GICHD, NMA, GICHD, Mine clearance NGO’s , Public Health authorities/ ICGLR , DOTS, APOPO


Key Partners. Kenya Fusion Center, 3 MS and MONUC, 11 MS, UN, African, Center for the study and research on terrorism, International Institutions, center for democracy and good governance